What’s New for Taxes


This post is in: Business
5 Comments

When it comes to taxes, what you don’t know CAN hurt you. There have been changes in federal tax laws, audit targets and especially state tax laws in 2009. Look for even more changes in 2010.

There are two ways to get ready for these changes:

(1) Keep your tax strategy flexible, and
(2) Keep your tax strategy current.

On Wednesday, February 17 at 6 pm Pacific, 7 pm Mountain, 8 pm Central and 9 pm Eastern, I’m going to have a FREE! Teleseminar “Are You Going To Be Paying Too Much in Taxes?” It’s not just a look at where you are now, it’s also some predictions of things you need to be concerned about in 2010 based on the rumblings we hear from Congress and state legislature.

Register now for this FREE! Teleseminar at http://www.DianesSeminars.com .



5 Comments

  1. Glad I could clarify! Rebecca, as long as you avoid having affiliates in the Amazon tax states, you’ll be fine.

    It IS confusing.

  2. Whew! I misunderstood the amazon tax. I thought it meant I’d have to collect and pay tax for each person I sold to in other states! But, apparently you meant that this concerns affiliates who are getting paid commissions….I feel soooo much better now. Thanks!

  3. Rebecca, your biggest issue will be whether you have nexus in other states.

    So, if you don’t have employees, personal property or other ties into other states, you should be fine.

    The other concern would be the ‘Amazon’ tax we were talking about regarding affiliates in other states.

  4. I’m very concerned about the nexus issues you discussed on this call. If a business (like mine) is thinking of doing more online…perhaps selling training materials and such….do I now have to look into every single state that someone orders from to find out that state’s sales tax rules? Is there a central place to look for this type of info?

    I can imagine hours of research and paperwork coming my way if I want to do this type of business!

Leave a Comment